#1 Go To

I was asked about month back if I have a “go to” meal that I cook.  You know, that dish you pull out when you’ve had a long day and don’t have time or the energy to think about what to cook for dinner.  At that time I was barely coming out of my first trimester blues, and my response was that I didn’t think so.  Well, I was wrong.  I do, and last night I pulled out my “go to” dinner.  Do to the simple fact that I got my new camera yesterday and spent all my time playing, leaving no time to cook my planned dinner.

I thought I’d go ahead and share my “go to”

Honey Mustard Chicken with Broccoli

The Recipe is as follows:

Boneless Chicken Breast
1 Can Campbell’s  Cream of Chicken
1 Cup Mayo
2 Tbsp Spicy Brown Mustard
1 or 2 Tbsp Honey
Jasmine White Rice
Broccoli

I typically cut up the chicken while I have about a tablespoon of olive oil warming in a pan on the stove.  The reason why I cut it up is so it cooks quicker.  While the chicken is cooking, in a sauce pan I put together the Honey Mustard. Add the soup, mayo, mustard, and honey.  Stir together, adjust flavor to your liking.  Sometime I add some dijon mustard to give it a different kick.  Bring the sauce to a simmer and let cook for about 5 minutes.  Serve over rice, with some fresh broccoli.

When I first started cooking this, about 10 years ago, I use to pour the sauce over the chicken and let it cook that way, but the sauce is kind of high calorie. So I started cooking it separate so that my husband and I can be more in control about how much we put on.

Its a yummy meal, that you can fancy up if you like.  Takes about 15 minutes, which is how long the rice cooks for, and done.  This is a favorite in my home, good old stand by meal.

I have other “go to’s” I am sure.  I will post them as I go.

2 Comments to “#1 Go To”

  1. Man, that sounds delicious! I hate Mayo, so, maybe I’d leave it out (is that possible), but I really want to try this!

Leave a Reply

