Getting Rid of Jiffy

So I am attempting to and determined to transition the food in our house to “whole” and “clean” products. Meaning I want to get rid of all processed food from our house.

So while I was cleaning out my pantry, I came across 5 boxes of Jiffy Corn Mix. I decided to get rid of it by cooking it, and from now on I will be making our cornbread from scratch. I made a spinach casserole with the mix. It was pretty yummy. My husband and I had seconds. I plan on making it again but a non-box healthier version. If you want something easy, heres the recipe.  I’ll update this post when I update this recipe.

Spinach Casserole (6-8 servings)                                                

 1pkg Jiffy corn muffin mix
1pkg (10 0z) frozen chopped spinach, thawed
2 cups chopped onion
2Tbsp margarine or butter
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup sour cream
1 can cream soup (celery, mushroom or chicken) whatever you have on hand
1tsp herb seasoning (i didn’t use)
1/2tsp garlic salt
1/4tsp pepper
swiss cheese (optional) (I used whatever I had on hand)
 
Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 1 1/2 quart casserole dish.
Cook & drain spinach. Set aside. Saute onion in margarine or butter. Mix spinach with onion & set aside. Combine eggs, sour cream, soup, seasonings & muffin mix. Blend well & add spinach mixture. Pour into prepared casserole dish & bake 40-45 minutes. Sprinkle cheese on top (optional). Return to oven until cheese is melted.
                                                                                                                                                                             

 

Leave a Reply

