Sunday Soup

About a month ago I decided that the Yoder’s (my husband, son and myself) needed a new weekly tradition. This is where Sunday Soup came from. My husband only day off happens to be Sunday, so its kind of nice to have something special to look forward to. I am looking forward to seeing this lovely tradition evolve over the years.

The Soup menu for this Sunday is Pea Soup (click here to see the recipe) with fresh baked Onion Bread (here to see the bread recipe). I found the recipe for the Pea Soup on a blog that I am falling in love with, 101 Cookbooks. The bread at The Fresh Loaf website, another new fav of mine.

Before I go into details about the meal that I put together, here is the reason why I have decided to make all our food fresh as possible, and to have little traditions that can be groomed for years to come. Making our condo a home, Hallowed Ground if you will.

My wonderful husband Chris, the most amazing man that I have the honor of spending my life with and my adorable (if I don’t say so myself!) son, Jones. Yes, Jones is his first name.

(my husband moved the laptop so I could see that he was chewing the table. he makes it look enjoyable)

On to the food! It started last night, making what is called Poolish. I have to be honest, I did not take the time to learn what Poolish is, and why its called Poolish. I just followed the recipe directions. Poolish recipe (as it is for this bread) is 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of water, 1/4 teaspoon of yeast. Then you cover it with plastic wrap and let it sit over night. Thats it. As you can see, its all watery.

Above – what it looked like last night.

Below – what the Poolish looked like after hanging out over night. 

This morning, I took this Poolish mixture and added it to the rest of the recipe, which you can read Here. Now, the recipe you will read is for a braided bread. I actually tried to do a twist. Failed! Its is so much harder then it looks. So as you can see, I just rolled it in to a odd shaped ball.

The aroma that spread through the house as it baked was simply amazing.

The texture and taste surpassed the smell.  If you love fresh bread, I highly recommend this recipe. Its amazing! My husband could not wait to eat with lunch. It was quite nice to munch on while making the Green Pea Soup.

The Onion Bread was a beautiful combination to the Green Pea Soup. The soup had, well peas, ginger, serrano chiles, garlic, onions, cumin, topped off with fresh lemon juice, queso fresco, and fresh mint. Please check out the recipe made by the original creator at her site 101 Cookbooks.

I bought a hand blender this weekend, and I have to say it is so far the best kitchen purchase I have made thus far. If you don’t have one, and enjoy soups, I highly recommend you getting one.

I think my husband would agree, I set the bar high after today’s Sunday Soup. We will see what will happen next Sunday.

Leave a Reply

